Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
question about sub-ohm
Jesse_James2112 Offline

Likes Given: 0
question about sub-ohm
I'm new to vaping, I've never vaped. I'm looking for an RTA atomizer with a very loose draw for direct-to-lung. Virtually every atomizer I come across online is sub-ohm. I am told sub-ohm is not good for high nicotine levels, and sub ohm is not good for beginners who've never smoked (I dip) because it will produce a really hard hit.
My question is, can't I just turn down the watts? Or if I had a temperature control, couldn't I just set it at a low temp? 
26-08-2017 05:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
TinWhisker Offline
Hello World
Senior Staff

Likes Given: 16,310
RE: question about sub-ohm
You can turn down the power, but the vape will be unsatisfying. Subohm is indeed for higher power applications, which is why it was first adapted. And because of the higher power, you use more juice, which in turn introduces more nicotine. So yes, lower nic levels are better suited for subohm. And from my experience, direct lung is not all that satisfying at 1 ohm and higher levels. So in a way, if you want to use DL, you're best off with subohm. The reason the DL atomizers are airy is because the higher power induces faster and higher levels of heat to the coils. MTL is not suited for that. So it's something of a vaping 'law of nature' if you will: You want airy, you sub ohm. You sub ohm, you cut back the nic. You want higher nic, you MTL. You MTL, you have a tight draw at lower power.

To add to the confusion, you are not required to follow these laws. You can personalize vaping any way you wish. But, high airflow with low power will likely not be satisfying to you at all. High nic levels with DL subohming will possibly make you sick or worse. YMMV.
26-08-2017 05:56 PM
[-] The following 2 users Like TinWhisker's post:
ecignut (08-26-2017), LilFracker (08-27-2017)
mike.williams Offline
Squonk Club Member
FreeCycle