Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
cotton soaked but burn taste
chris_grsmr Offline

Likes Given: 0
cotton soaked but burn taste
I have a trident by grand vapor and my cotton is soaked thru but im getting a burnt taste after about two or three hits depending on how big a hit I take. Im wondering is there a trick to it so i dont get that cotton burn taste. Any help would be appreciated since im new to the vaping world.
(This post was last modified: 07-05-2014 08:37 AM by chris_grsmr.)
07-05-2014 08:13 AM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Don Offline
Pod and Squonk Club founder :)
Senior Staff

Likes Given: 15,054
RE: cotton soaked but burn taste
Probably use a little less cotton - if it is too tight, it won't wick fast enough. It shouldn't be too tightly pulled through the coil or packed in too tight.

I reckon that's the most likely explanation for what's wrong.

http://www.preventsuicideapp.com
07-05-2014 10:28 AM
Spasmod Offline
Administrator
Administrators

Likes Given: 9,003
Hi Chris, welcome to TVF!

One of the things I always check after wicking and wetting the wicks is to give it a good long hit without the cap on while simultaneously blowing rigorously over the coil.

I do this to make sure that there's no hotspots on the coil. These will show up on long hits, more often than not one of the legs will start to glow red. The fix is fairly easy, usually either shorten the leg a little by pushing it further into the post or by squeezing the coils together a little. If all else fails with manipulating the coil there's always the option of ensuring the hot leg is touching the cotton.

Of course be sure to also check the cotton isn't too tight inside the coil as Don mentioned above. Good luck mate Good
07-05-2014 11:56 AM
18sixfifty Offline
too big for his britches

Likes Given: 331