Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
X-Force RDTA Suggestions
Author Message
Wildy84 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 83
Likes Given: 9
Likes Received: 71 in 29 posts
Joined: May 2017
Reputation: 1
Post: #1
X-Force RDTA Suggestions
Hi folks,

I recently purchased an X-Force RDTA 28mm Atomizer which allows you to build 3 x coils onto the the deck. I used standard 0.45ohm Alien wire coils, 5 wrap on each and standard 3mm diameter which when built into the X-Force RDTA gives off an ohm reading of 0.14. With this I usually vape at around 85 Watts, however I noticed that when I vape on it that it doesn't give off a powerful vape. It feels rather weak. Now I did the exact same set up on my Vandy Vape Triple 28 RTA and it was perfectly fine. Any suggestions as to what the cause of this could be?
 
Thanks.

[Image: X-Force%20RDTA%201_zpseeyckcsg.jpg]

[Image: s-l300_zpstfpb4ynl.jpg]
05-07-2018 11:53 AM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Don Online
Squonk and Toodle Club Member
*******
Senior Staff

Posts: 13,411
Likes Given: 11,559
Likes Received: 18,173 in 8,775 posts
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 213
Post: #2
RE: X-Force RDTA Suggestions
Different airflow?

Different wicking?

Genesis-type design?

Try upping the wattage perhaps?

TVF tested battery info to be found here

http://www.preventsuicideapp.com

[Image: 24291313393_16615b20b2_m.jpg]
05-07-2018 12:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Wildy84 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 83
Likes Given: 9
Likes Received: 71 in 29 posts
Joined: May 2017
Reputation: 1
Post: #3
RE: X-Force RDTA Suggestions
(05-07-2018 12:01 PM)Don Wrote:  Different airflow?

Different wicking?

Genesis-type design?

Try upping the wattage perhaps?

- The airflow is indeed different, it has got 4 massive airflow holes, and takes in air like a hoover, however I can close and open these at will with no change to the actual power effect.

- Wicking is pretty much the same on all coils I build (Scottish roll)

- Genesis type design? Please elaborate.

- Tried upping the wattage to 100-110 with an ever so slight increase in power but tank got hot very quickly.

Could it be that I just need a wire that will ramp up quicker? I thought Alien would have been grand since I used it on the Triple 28 with no issues.
05-07-2018 12:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Don Online
Squonk and Toodle Club Member
*******
Senior Staff

Posts: 13,411
Likes Given: 11,559
Likes Received: 18,173 in 8,775 posts
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 213
Post: #4
RE: X-Force RDTA Suggestions
Genesis type - basically the tank is below the coils, with wicks leading up. Traditionally on a Genny these are stainless steel mesh. Tilting the atty often helps to feed the wicks with these types.

Alien wire does have quite a lot of metal in it to heat up.

TVF tested battery info to be found here

http://www.preventsuicideapp.com

[Image: 24291313393_16615b20b2_m.jpg]
05-07-2018 12:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[-] The following 1 user Likes Don's post:
ecignut (07-05-2018)
Wildy84 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 83
Likes Given: 9
Likes Received: 71 in 29 posts
Joined: May 2017
Reputation: 1
Post: #5
RE: X-Force RDTA Suggestions
(05-07-2018 12:39 PM)Don Wrote:  Genesis type - basically the tank is below the coils, with wicks leading up. Traditionally on a Genny these are stainless steel mesh. Tilting the atty often helps to feed the wicks with these types.

Alien wire does have quite a lot of metal in it to heat up.

No well in this case the tank is below the coils with the wicks leading down into the tank instead of up. It's a similar set up to the Pyro RDTA except the deck has a triangle shape design to fit 3 coils onto.

I do have a roll of Flatwire Nichrome wire at home which I might try instead, tho I'll need to be careful as the Ohm reading on a dual Flatwire build for me on a 5 wrap, 3mm diameter reads at 0.14 so adding another coil may bring the Ohm down to 7 or 8.
05-07-2018 01:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Don Online
Squonk and Toodle Club Member
*******
Senior Staff

Posts: 13,411
Likes Given: 11,559
Likes Received: 18,173 in 8,775 posts
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 213
Post: #6
RE: X-Force RDTA Suggestions
That is lower than most mods will fire. Three 0.14 ohm coils in parallel (I'm assuming they are in parallel as they are in most atomisers) is 0.05 ohms which is way too low for just about any purpose, TC included.

On a mech, the switch will have a higher resistance than that and will heat more than the coils will. I really hope this isn't on some sort of mech mod. The consequences of firing that low on an unregulated mod include cells silently exploding. It doesn't happen often, but it has happened quite a few times.

TVF tested battery info to be found here

http://www.preventsuicideapp.com

[Image: 24291313393_16615b20b2_m.jpg]
05-07-2018 01:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Wildy84 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 83
Likes Given: 9
Likes Received: 71 in 29 posts
Joined: May 2017
Reputation: 1
Post: #7
RE: X-Force RDTA Suggestions
(05-07-2018 01:34 PM)Don Wrote:  That is lower than most mods will fire. Three 0.14 ohm coils in parallel (I'm assuming they are in parallel as they are in most atomisers) is 0.05 ohms which is way too low for just about any purpose, TC included.

On a mech, the switch will have a higher resistance than that and will heat more than the coils will. I really hope this isn't on some sort of mech mod. The consequences of firing that low on an unregulated mod include cells silently exploding. It doesn't happen often, but it has happened quite a few times.

Apologies fella, I feel like I wasn't 100% clear on that last post regarding the Ohms. So a single coil Flatwire (The roll of Nichrome coil wire that I have at home) reads at 0.30ohms, on a dual set up it reads at 0.14ohms, therefore I would expect it to run anywhere between 7-10ohms on a triple coil set up.

No def not on a Mech mod, I wouldn't use a Mech due to the risk even if I do know what I'm doing. I just think that they are far too dangerous. No I use a regulated mod so all good there lad lol.
05-07-2018 02:06 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[-] The following 1 user Likes Wildy84's post:
Don (07-05-2018)
Post Reply