Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Premade Coils
Author Message
Ripnhl2005 Offline
When is this being released?
*****
FreeCycle

Posts: 928
Likes Given: 554
Likes Received: 863 in 448 posts
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 10
Post: #21
RE: Premade Coils
(06-01-2017 07:06 PM)TinWhisker Wrote:  Oh, TC for me, for sure. Since I don't have to be worried about being absent-minded and roasting the cotton, my builds always last longer in TC. But TC... she's a fickle beast. It is terrific and my favorite mode, for sure. But it will take a little while to understand it and dial it in. If you choose to use it, be patient. Ask questions. Don't give up quickly.

From my experience though, either mode will last longer with the IM thanks to the anti-spitback cap. Keeps a lot of the condensation from settling on to the build. As always, however, YMMV.

Why fickle? Don't you just set the temp and go? Or you have to adjust other settings as you change temp?
06-01-2017 07:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Michael Offline
Social Media Manager
******
Media Manager

Posts: 6,756
Likes Given: 17,354
Likes Received: 7,427 in 3,867 posts
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 59
Post: #22
RE: Premade Coils
The hard part is finding the best temp for your coils, and finding the right wattage to ramp up the temp, and finding the right TCR if the built-in one isn't right, and locking the resistance if needed, and...

There are a lot of other settings besides setting the temp. That's one reason I don't use TC as often, because I don't have the patience to get everything just right. TW has the patience, I do not. But the few times that I do use TC, I do enjoy it when I get the settings just right. But there's a lot more to it than just setting the temp, and there's a lot more to it than just setting the wattage and ignoring the temp. 
06-01-2017 07:53 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[-] The following 1 user Likes Michael's post:
Ripnhl2005 (01-06-2017)
Ripnhl2005 Offline
When is this being released?
*****
FreeCycle

Posts: 928
Likes Given: 554
Likes Received: 863 in 448 posts
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 10
Post: #23
RE: Premade Coils
(06-01-2017 07:53 PM)Michael Wrote:  The hard part is finding the best temp for your coils, and finding the right wattage to ramp up the temp, and finding the right TCR if the built-in one isn't right, and locking the resistance if needed, and...

There are a lot of other settings besides setting the temp. That's one reason I don't use TC as often, because I don't have the patience to get everything just right. TW has the patience, I do not. But the few times that I do use TC, I do enjoy it when I get the settings just right. But there's a lot more to it than just setting the temp, and there's a lot more to it than just setting the wattage and ignoring the temp. 

Got it...I'll stick with power for now...I don't have much patience either Scratch_one-s_head
06-01-2017 07:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
TinWhisker Offline
Hello World
*******
Senior Staff

Posts: 12,365
Likes Given: 15,816
Likes Received: 19,873 in 9,008 posts
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 206
Post: #24
RE: Premade Coils
There's only one way to answer that... Try it yourself and see.

In power mode, all you need to do is set the wattage and you're off. Bump it up and down a bit 'till you're happy.

With TC, you have base resistance, TCR, temperature, and joules. All need to be right for you to be happy. I promise, it does get a lot easier pretty quick, but all the values are very important to have correct in order to get a perfect vape. Temp and joules are totally different but totally important to get to play together at just the right values. TCR matters because if you have that wrong, you're never going to get a consistent vape. The iPV8 have manual TCR so you can dial that one in perfectly, so that's good. And I can give you good values, but those values work for ME and what I like. You may like a totally different vape, so my settings won't work out for you at all.

**Edit- yeah, what Michael said. But it doesn't take a lot of patience. Just a fair amount of tinkering, but most importantly, a good amount of understanding in how they work together. Once you get that, it's power-mode easy.
06-01-2017 07:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[-] The following 2 users Like TinWhisker's post:
Michael (01-06-2017), Ripnhl2005 (01-06-2017)
Michael Offline
Social Media Manager
******
Media Manager

Posts: 6,756
Likes Given: 17,354
Likes Received: 7,427 in 3,867 posts
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 59
Post: #25
RE: Premade Coils
While we're on the topic, I've got a random TC question. 

One of the reasons I don't usually use TC is because often, it will fire nicely for one hit, then if I try to hit it again it reads the temperature as way higher than it is, and won't fire at all because it thinks the coils are still hot. I've tried locking the resistance, I've tried setting the temp higher, I've made sure the TCR is correct and I've cleaned the 510 connection to make sure there's nothing throwing that off, and I'm at a loss as to why this is happening. I'd assume it's because the TCR is somehow off, making it think the coils were supposed to be lower resistance than they are which would make it think they're hotter than they are, but I've tried everything I know to fix that and the only thing that fixes it is to unscrew the atty, leave it to cool, and try it again while telling the mod it's a new coil. Thoughts? 
06-01-2017 08:25 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
TinWhisker Offline
Hello World
*******
Senior Staff

Posts: 12,365
Likes Given: 15,816
Likes Received: 19,873 in 9,008 posts
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 206
Post: #26
RE: Premade Coils
What mod?
06-01-2017 08:30 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Don29palms Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 592
Likes Given: 46
Likes Received: 593 in 306 posts
Joined: Dec 2016
Reputation: 4
Post: #27
RE: Premade Coils
Hey rip if you're going to get premade coils that sampler pack I linked too would be a great start. In my opinion tc mode is really for more advanced vapers. Tc mode is really kind of a pain in the butt. After you get power mode mastered and start building your own coils then start playing with tc. AS ALWAYS, THESE ARE ONLY MY OPINIONS.
06-01-2017 08:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[-] The following 2 users Like Don29palms's post:
Ripnhl2005 (01-06-2017), Stoic (01-29-2017)
Ripnhl2005 Offline
When is this being released?
*****
FreeCycle

Posts: 928
Likes Given: 554
Likes Received: 863 in 448 posts
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 10
Post: #28
RE: Premade Coils
(06-01-2017 08:55 PM)Don29palms Wrote:  Hey rip if you're going to get premade coils that sampler pack I linked too would be a great start. In my opinion tc mode is really for more advanced vapers. Tc mode is really kind of a pain in the butt. After you get power mode mastered and start building your own coils then start playing with tc. AS ALWAYS, THESE ARE ONLY MY OPINIONS.

Your opinion is well taken...and I am absolutely ordering that sampler pack!
Appreciate the link! Good

1 question though...does the diameter matter with what deck you're using? When I was looking around I saw most were .3mm diameter and these are 0.2mm - 0.5mm.

5*Clapton pre-coiled wires (24/32 AWG, 0.5mm/0.2mm dia., 0.5ohm)
5*Hive pre-coiled wires (30/30*2 AWG, 0.25mm/0.25mm*2 dia., 0.5ohm)
5*Tiger pre-coiled wires (26 AWG, 0.4mm dia., 0.2*0.8mm flat wire size, 0.36ohm)
5*Flat twisted pre-coiled wires (0.2mm*0.8mm*2 flat wire size, 0.36ohm)
5*Mix twisted pre-coiled wires (26 AWG, 0.4mm dia., 0.2*0.8mm flat wire size, 0.45ohm)
5*Fused clapton pre-coiled wires (28*2/32 AWG, 0.32mm*2/0.2mm dia., 0.45ohm)
5*Alien pre-coiled wires (32 AWG, 0.2mm dia., 0.3mm*0.8mm flat wire size, 0.45ohm)
06-01-2017 08:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Michael Offline
Social Media Manager
******
Media Manager

Posts: 6,756
Likes Given: 17,354
Likes Received: 7,427 in 3,867 posts
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 59
Post: #29
RE: Premade Coils
(06-01-2017 08:30 PM)TinWhisker Wrote:  What mod?

Currently my Panzer DNA200, but I've had the issue on the RX200 too. I'm wondering if it's because the resistance creeps up over time, like the coils that are currently on it read as 0.24 when I first threw them in and now they read as 0.30, but that shouldn't be a problem if I reset the baseline resistance so the mod treats it as a new coil. 
06-01-2017 09:05 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Don29palms Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 592
Likes Given: 46
Likes Received: 593 in 306 posts
Joined: Dec 2016
Reputation: 4
Post: #30
RE: Premade Coils
Those diameters given in the description are the diameters of the guage of the wire. For example 24g is .5mm diameter and 32g is .2mm diameter. I would have to look back at the website to see if it states the id of the built coil. The id is what states the inner diameter of the coil itself
06-01-2017 09:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[-] The following 1 user Likes Don29palms's post:
Ripnhl2005 (01-06-2017)
Post Reply