Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
NO IDEA WHAT ALL THESE OPTIONS ARE, help?!
Author Message
Michael Offline
TVF Veteran
*****

Posts: 6,756
Likes Given: 17,354
Likes Received: 7,439 in 3,870 posts
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 60
Post: #31
RE: NO IDEA WHAT ALL THESE OPTIONS ARE, help?!
(31-12-2016 05:24 PM)Fatboy Wrote:  
(31-12-2016 05:18 PM)Michael Wrote:  I'm not sure. Since you're setting the mod at room temperature, and it bases the calculations on that, then I'd expect it already has a pre-set "room temp" for the calculations. So if you set it in a room at 70F, then go outside and reset it at 20F, it might think the reset resistance is supposed to be at 70F and mess up the calculations. Because it doesn't know what the actual ambient temperature is, so it has to have a preset "room temp" to base the calculations on. 

Kind of like "oh the user has set the resistance at 0.18 ohms, and we already know that when the user sets the temp it's room temp aka 70F (or whatever the preset value is) so to fire at 420F we need to use X watts for X amount of time."

That's exactly my point - if the setting is set to 70F while indoors and then I am spending time outdoors and it's -4F (common here)  unless the setting is a baseline and it somehow adjusts automatically, the coils will have a variance of 74 degrees...

See that's the thing though: if you've set it at 70F (which is just an arbitrary number I threw out for room temp, but I'm sure it's close enough) then that 74 degree variance wouldn't matter. The mod would heat up the coil until it reached the correct resistance for 420F, based on the baseline resistance set at 70F, so it would have to work a bit harder to heat it from -4F to 70F then up to 420F, but it should be more accurate because if you set the baseline while your mod was at -4F, then it would think it had reached 420F when it really was only at 350F because of the 70 degree difference. At least, that's the best theory I can think of, hope that makes sense. 
31-12-2016 07:47 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Fatboy Offline
FreeCycle Member
*******
Senior Staff

Posts: 6,808
Likes Given: 20,010
Likes Received: 9,691 in 4,660 posts
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 172
Post: #32
RE: NO IDEA WHAT ALL THESE OPTIONS ARE, help?!
(31-12-2016 07:47 PM)Michael Wrote:  
(31-12-2016 05:24 PM)Fatboy Wrote:  
(31-12-2016 05:18 PM)Michael Wrote:  
See that's the thing though: if you've set it at 70F (which is just an arbitrary number I threw out for room temp, but I'm sure it's close enough) then that 74 degree variance wouldn't matter. The mod would heat up the coil until it reached the correct resistance for 420F, based on the baseline resistance set at 70F, so it would have to work a bit harder to heat it from -4F to 70F then up to 420F, but it should be more accurate because if you set the baseline while your mod was at -4F, then it would think it had reached 420F when it really was only at 350F because of the 70 degree difference. At least, that's the best theory I can think of, hope that makes sense. 

Okay I see that logic - regardless of the environmental temperature, the setting will achieve the programmed temperature....
31-12-2016 08:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[-] The following 1 user Likes Fatboy's post:
Michael (12-31-2016)
Michael Offline
TVF Veteran
*****

Posts: 6,756
Likes Given: 17,354
Likes Received: 7,439 in 3,870 posts
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 60
Post: #33
RE: NO IDEA WHAT ALL THESE OPTIONS ARE, help?!
Exactly. At least, that's what I'm assuming based on my knowledge of how TC works, since it has no way of actually telling what temperature it is outside, only bases the temperature on the resistance of the coils. But I could still be wrong, it's just my pet theory. 
31-12-2016 08:34 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Don Offline
Squonk and Toodle Club Member
*******
Senior Staff

Posts: 13,720
Likes Given: 11,894
Likes Received: 18,776 in 9,044 posts
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 216
Post: #34
RE: NO IDEA WHAT ALL THESE OPTIONS ARE, help?!
It isn't actually temperature at all that it is measuring, but resistance which is a sorta, kinda proxy for temperature. But is far, far easier to measure.

Which is why it started with nickel - despite its extremely low resistance, it has a bigger variation of resistance with temperature than any other metal I'm aware of.

Niobium is not bad, but costs like platinum. Which also is a good TC wire.

TVF tested battery info to be found here

http://www.preventsuicideapp.com

[Image: 24291313393_16615b20b2_m.jpg]
31-12-2016 08:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[-] The following 1 user Likes Don's post:
Michael (12-31-2016)
Norjak71 Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 27
Likes Given: 0
Likes Received: 13 in 6 posts
Joined: Dec 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #35
RE: NO IDEA WHAT ALL THESE OPTIONS ARE, help?!
27 watts and 6 volts seems to be my sweet spot -- nice after taste, thick cloud, no burning, the only thing i dont like about this particular box so far is that you can only fill up the tank about half way and have to refill often, but, i may get another tank for that.i got the one with nice gold trim. i love to look at it, its beautiful. 

do all tanks fit? cause i have 2 tanks from my previous vapors and they all fit fine, just wondering if its the same for all. i could use a bigger one. 
01-01-2017 02:03 AM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Michael Offline
TVF Veteran
*****

Posts: 6,756
Likes Given: 17,354
Likes Received: 7,439 in 3,870 posts
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 60
Post: #36
RE: NO IDEA WHAT ALL THESE OPTIONS ARE, help?!
Almost all, yeah. There are a few tanks that use other connections, but the vast majority use the standardized 510 connection. The only exception I can think of is the Kanger ProTank 3 Mini, or any disposable tanks like what come with eGo starter kits. 
02-01-2017 12:00 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
BGN64 Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 27
Likes Given: 15
Likes Received: 25 in 11 posts
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #37
RE: NO IDEA WHAT ALL THESE OPTIONS ARE, help?!
Is voltage a user adjustable feature when in VW mode? I just got a eLeaf iStick Power 80w and it doesn't seem to be.
02-01-2017 03:04 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Don29palms Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 592
Likes Given: 46
Likes Received: 593 in 306 posts
Joined: Dec 2016
Reputation: 4
Post: #38
RE: NO IDEA WHAT ALL THESE OPTIONS ARE, help?!
(02-01-2017 03:04 PM)BGN64 Wrote:  Is voltage a user adjustable feature when in VW mode? I just got a eLeaf iStick Power 80w and it doesn't seem to be.
You can't have both vw and vv. It's either one or the other. Wattage determines voltage and voltage determines wattage based on resistance. 
02-01-2017 03:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Michael Offline
TVF Veteran
*****

Posts: 6,756
Likes Given: 17,354
Likes Received: 7,439 in 3,870 posts
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 60
Post: #39
RE: NO IDEA WHAT ALL THESE OPTIONS ARE, help?!
When you adjust the wattage, you're also adjusting the voltage. Most mods show both on the screen, so you can see the voltage go up as you raise the wattage. 
02-01-2017 06:48 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply