Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Idea: Archery string server to wrap coils. Comments?
troxelb Offline

Likes Given: 0
Idea: Archery string server to wrap coils. Comments?
I've done a little archery in the past and I have a string server that is designed to wrap the bow string very tightly and consistently to protect the string from the knocks on the arrows.

I've used it to "serve" the bow strings before and I was surprised how easy it was.

I'm thinking of finding some 3mm rod to use as the "string" and then attempting to use the string server to tightly wrap the coil.

The problems I can see popping up would be the fact that to help hold tension, the wire will need to be threaded through 3 holes in the string server.  I'm not sure if the kanthal wires can take that kind of bending and tension.

When I have a bit of time I'll give it a go.

Of course, you might say that it isn't THAT hard to wrap coils.  I'm new at it and I'm just trying to brain-storm easier more consistent methods.

What do you think?
13-11-2013 12:09 AM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Spasmod Offline
Administrator
Administrators

Likes Given: 8,587
RE: Idea: Archery string server to wrap coils. Comments?
Hi troxelb, welcome to the TVF family! Smile

I think you have definitely come to the right place as we do like to tinker and brainstorm new ideas, in fact we Love brainstorming!

Most of us here come from a flashlight modding background so we like our electronics tinkering. It would be great to see some pics to give us a general idea as I personally don't know a thing about archery so I don't have a mental image of what you describe.

Perhaps one or two of our members might know what you mean though Smile

Spas
13-11-2013 01:22 AM
troxelb Offline