Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Beginner question, ohms and burning up coils
Davidb Offline

Likes Given: 0
Beginner question, ohms and burning up coils
Hi I have been vaping for a few months. I recently purchased the elaf istick power nano with a Melo 3 Nano tank.

It came with a coil that says 0.3 ohm but when I fire the mod the little screen says 0.25 ohm. Is that bad? Am I supposed to change that somehow?

I also tried using my old Arctic tank by Horizon Tech with 0.2 ohm coils.

With both of these my coils last less than 1 day before they start tasting nasty, similar to the taste you get if you accidentally light a cigarette backwards.

When I was using the Arctic tank with those 0.2 ohm coils on my istick TC 100 W the coils would last me several weeks before tasting foul.

The only thing they tell me at the vape shops is to prime the coil and keep the tank full. (There's got to be more to it than that). I do both of those and still have this problem.
(This post was last modified: 13-10-2016 06:07 PM by Davidb.)
13-10-2016 06:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
gentlydoingit* Offline
TVF FreeCycle Manager
FreeCycle Manager

Likes Given: 7,007
RE: Beginner question, ohms and burning up coils
Hey david

The juice your using can cause this problem, what's the vg/pg ratio? Also, if your mod has slipped into tc mode, that'll eat up a non tc coil quite quickly. What sort of power are you using?

Don't forget to apply for the freecycle section!
http://www.thevapingforum.com/Forum-FreeCycle--191
13-10-2016 06:35 PM
Davidb Offline

Thanks for the reply. I usually use max VG liquid. I heard that can burn up the coils more quickly, but from 3 weeks to < 24 hours?

I vape at around 25W
(This post was last modified: 13-10-2016 07:24 PM by Davidb.)
13-10-2016 07:24 PM
gentlydoingit* Offline
TVF FreeCycle Manager
FreeCycle Manager

Likes Given: 7,007